Bowen Lecturer

Bowen Lecturers

The Bowen Lectures were set up at the University of California at Berkeley in 1981 in honour of Rufus Bowen. They are supported by anonymous donors, one of whom was an undergraduate student who was taught by Rufus Bowen. Bowen worked in mathematical dynamics systems theory. His pioneering studies of topological entropy, symbolic dynamics, Markov partitions, and invariant measures are of lasting importance; much of today's research is inspired by his ideas.

Bowen Lecturers

1981-82   Dennis Sullivan
1982-83   Anatol Katok
1983-84   Michael Atiyah
1984-85   John Franks
1985-86   William Parry
1986-87   Nancy Kopell
1987-88   Blaine Lawson
1988-89   David Ruelle
1989-90   Yuri Manin
1990-91   John Milnor
1991-92   Philip Holmes
1992-93   Israel M Gelfand
1993-94   Alain Connes
1994-95   Shing-Tung Yau
1995-96   Peter Sarnak
1996-97   Vladimir Arnold
1997-98   Simon Donaldson
1998-99   Barry Mazur
1999-00   Cliff Taubes
2000-01   Don Zagier
2001-02   Yakov G Sinai
2002-03   Roger Penrose
2003-04   Richard Hamilton
2004-05   Curt McMullen
2005-06   John Conway
2006-07   Edward Witten
2007-08   Michael Freedman
2008-09   Hillel Furstenberg
2009-10   Christophe Soulé
2010-11   Michael Hopkins
2011-12   Cédric Villani
2012-13   Benedict Gross
2013-14   Jeff Cheeger
2014-15   Dusa McDuff

Index of Societies Index of Honours, etc.
Main index Biographies Index

JOC/EFR February 2019

The URL of this page is: